How to Start New Year Resolutions (and a Raw Soup Recipe!)

Happy New Year everyone!!

I hope you had an amazing finish to the 2013 and now ready to start New Year with fresh mind, fresh ideas and definitely with fresh… food! 🙂 One of my New Year’s resolutions is not to follow any particular diets or try to loose weight – but to generally start eating healthy, get rid of any unnatural and processed meals from the menu and try to eat as fresh as possible. So yes, I will be going off the tracks and eating something unhealthy, but not restricting myself to any particular rules will help me to stay on the healthy track for longer.. or maybe forever! 🙂

So to start my 2014 I have decided to incorporate more raw meals (and not only deserts now) to my family’s menus. The ever so wonderful father Christmas have decided to give me a recipe book of Ani Phyo (thanks to my sister Laura, who definitely was the little birdie to tell him what I wanted this year!) so my journey to making raw meals begins here…

Broccoli Soup with Red Bell Pepper Kream

(serves 4)

Soup Base:

1 cup chopped broccoli

1 cup spinach, washed well and packed

1 cup cashews

1/4 cup extra-virgin olive oil

2 tsp sea salt

2 cups water

Topping:

1/2 cup cashews

1 cup seeded and chopped red bell pepper

1 tbsp lemon juice

1/2 tsp sea salt

2 tbsp water

METHOD: First make the topping by grinding the cashews into a powder. Place all the other ingredients into the blender and blend until smooth.  For the soup blend all the ingredients in a high-speed blender (although I use my hand-held blender and it works well) until smooth. Divide it among for serving bowls. Top each portion with a dollop of Red Bell Pepper Kream.

It takes so little time to make, that it should be blended straight before serving for the fresher taste. There will be some of the Red Bell Pepper Kream left, so you can store it in the fridge for three days and use it as topping for other various meals. If you want a warm soup, just heat it a little, but to keep it raw you should heat it no more than to 40°C. But it tastes very good as it is – especially if eaten straight after blending, as the blades makes it slightly warm.

 

Image

ENJOY!

Leave a Reply

